About eb-family

We are in the process of setting up an open pro-bono portal that will make instant assistance available free of charge.

The number of people who are familiar with epidermolysis bullosa and the meaning of the term is very limited indeed. Hence we have made it our business to gather this small group of people — almost a small family of sorts — in a place where we can compare notes and exchange know-how, and a forum for lending a helping hand to each other or to engage in trust-based conversation. In short, this is the purpose of creating eb-family.

This is the place where those affected, family, health professionals, teachers, social workers or anyone else who would like to learn more about EB will find advise and assistance. Any day may occasion new challenges in the lives of so-called butterfly children. Many of these issues may seem negligible or perfectly ordinary to outsiders. But for parents of an EB child, questions such as the following present themselves along with many other challenges on a daily basis, and none of them are easy.

For instance, parents may wonder:

  • Is it safe to breastfeed our child?
  • How do we bathe him or her?
  • What is the best way to tend to the wounds?
  • What do we do when wounds become infected?
  • Can our child go to preschool?
  • How do we apply for healthcare benefits?
  • What sort of shoes should we get?
  • How do I explain the disease to my child, and make it understand that it is different than other children?
  • Is it safe to keep pets?

Answering these quotidian questions is of the essence for the development of the child, or else influences his or her quality of living. Our motive for launching the eb-family project is precisely to address these questions, and to encourage anyone or any institution taking an interest to partake in the collaborative effort. We are in the process of setting up an open pro-bono portal that will make instant assistance available free of charge to anybody in need.

Über eb-family

Wir errichten ein gemeinnütziges und offenes Portal, das allen schnelle und kostenfreie Hilfe zur Verfügung stellen wird.

Die Zahl der Menschen, die Epidermolysis bullosa und die Bedeutung dieses Begriffes kennt, ist sehr klein. Umso mehr ist es unser Anliegen, diese kleine Gruppe, die fast schon eine Familie bildet, an einem Ort zusammenzubringen, an dem wir unsere Erfahrungen und unser Wissen austauschen können, der Raum bietet für gegenseitige Hilfe ebenso wie für vertrauensvolle Gespräche. Kurz gesagt, hierfür bauen wir eb-family auf.

Hier finden Betroffene, Familien, Health Professionals, Lehrer, Sozialarbeiter und alle anderen Menschen, die mehr über EB erfahren möchten, einen Ratgeber und Hilfe. Im Alltag der Schmetterlingskinder entstehen beinahe täglich neue Herausforderungen und Fragen. Diese Fragen mögen Außenstehenden normal oder auch unwichtig erscheinen. Für Eltern eines EB-Kindes sind Fragen wie die Folgenden normal und stellen nur einen Bruchteil der täglichen Herausforderungen, mit denen sie konfrontiert werden, dar.

Die Eltern fragen sich:

  • Kann unser Kind gestillt werden?
  • Können wir es baden?
  • Wie müssen wir die Wunden versorgen?
  • Was müssen wir tun, wenn sich Wunden infizieren?
  • Kann unser Kind einen Kindergarten besuchen?
  • Wie beantragen wir eine Pflegestufe?
  • Welche Schuhe sollen wir kaufen?
  • Wie erkläre ich meinem Kind seine Krankheit und warum es sich dadurch von anderen Kindern unterscheidet?
  • Können wir ein Haustier halten?

Die Beantwortung dieser alltäglichen Fragen ist wichtig für die Entwicklung des Kindes oder hat Einfluss auf die Lebensqualität. Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, haben wir das Projekt eb-family gestartet und laden alle interessierten Personen und Institutionen ein, daran mitzuarbeiten. Wir errichten hier ein gemeinnütziges und offenes Portal, das allen, die Hilfe benötigen, diese schnell und kostenfrei zur Verfügung stellen wird.